Sunday, March 27

APC CONVENTION: High wire politics as Adamu, Omisore, 75 others emerge

Indications surfaced Friday night at the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) National Convention that the party had reached a consensus on 77 of 78 principles.

Senator Abdullahi Adamu was backed by stakeholders, particularly state governors, for the role of National Chairman, according to a 'Unity List' obtained by our Correspondent, while Senator Iyiola Omisore was endorsed as National Secretary.

Senator Abubakar Kyari (Borno State) was endorsed as Deputy National Chairman, North; Chief Emma Eneukwu (Enugu State) was recommended as Deputy National Chairman, South; and Barr. Festus Fuanter (Plateau) was endorsed as Deputy National Secretary.

Muazu Rijau (Niger) was approved for North Central; Mustapha Salihu (Adamawa) for North East; Salihu Moh. Lukman (Kaduna) for North West; Dr Ijeoma Arodiogwu (Imo) for South-East; Chief Victor Giadom, Rivers, South-South; and David Isaac Kekemeke, Ondo, South West.

Ahmed El-Marzuk of Katsina is the National Legal Adviser, Uguru Ofoke of Ebonyi is the National Treasurer, Bashir Gimel of Jigawa is the National Financial Secretary, Sulaiman Argungu of Kebbi is the National Organizing Secretary, and FN Nwosu of Abia is the National Welfare Secretary.

Among those endorsed were Felix Morka of Delta as National Publicity Secretary, Senator Abubakar Maikafi of Bauchi as National Auditor, Dr Beta Edu of Cross River as National Women Leader, and Dayo Israel of Lagos State as National Youth Leader.

The Convention was marked by high-wire politics, when Senator Ken Nnamani, who was widely expected to be elected as Deputy National Chairman, South, abruptly pulled out of the 'Unity List.'

Keep reading on Vanguard news.
No content on this site, regardless of date, should be used to replace direct medical advice from your doctor or another trained practitioner.
Blogger Template Created by pipdig